Arley Leo Hinds, 90

Born March 4, 1928

Died February 14, 2019

Edith Laverne Warren, 97

Born October 31, 1921

Died February 14, 2019

June Ann Drake, 61

Born September 10, 1957

Died February 12, 2019


Our death notices and obits are always free to the families and funeral homes.


Saturday, February 16

Loureda vs Fletcher Watch Party
SBR Defensive Training
2019 Kids' Space Daddy Daughter Dance
Soulful Hangout
Estate Sale
Tyler Brant
Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike
Zumba with Kaylon
SBR Defensive Training
Oklahoma Kids!
Donut's and Doggy's
ECC Ladies Breakfast
Murder suicide house
Valentine's Dinner for Two
Oscars Celebration

Friday, August 31, 2018, 8:00 AM

State Sen. Dewayne Pemberton

State Sen. Dewayne Pemberton has been appointed to chair the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Education. Senate Pro Tempore-designate Greg Treat announced he tapped the Muskogee Republican for the position last week.

Pemberton, who was elected to serve in the State Senate in 2016, has previously served as a member of the Senate Standing Committee for Education, as well as the Appropriations, Energy, and Agriculture & Wildlife committees. Pemberton said he’s looking forward to his new leadership role on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Education.

“I am honored to have been chosen to chair the Senate Subcommittee on Education,” said Pemberton. “This is a great opportunity to serve in a capacity where my passion for education can make a real difference. I look forward to this new responsibility and am ready to get started as soon as possible.”

Pemberton holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Central Arkansas and earned his Master’s degree in Educational Administration from Northeastern State University. He later earned a principal and superintendent certification from Oklahoma State University. Prior to his service to the Senate, Pemberton served in various roles as coach, teacher and administrator in many Oklahoma school districts.

Pemberton represents Senate District 9, which includes Cherokee and Muskogee Counties.