Lorrie Ann Paden, 53

Born May 27, 1965

Died July 20, 2018

Carol Lee Preston, 75

Born January 9, 1943

Died July 19, 2018

Barbara J. Hammond, 80

Born June 30, 1938

Died July 18, 2018

Bonnie Jane Harrison, 93

Born May 17, 1925

Died July 18, 2018

Scharyl Celeste Gates, 61

Born August 24, 1956

Died July 18, 2018


Our death notices and obits are always free to the families and funeral homes.


Friday, December 1, 2017, 8:39 AM

Candidates for the Board of Education in 14 Muskogee County school districts will file their Declarations of Candidacy beginning at 8 a.m. on Monday, December 4th, and continuing Tuesday and Wednesday, Muskogee County Election Board Secretary Kelly G. Beach said today.

Beach said the official filing period ends at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, December 6th. All candidate filings will occur at the Muskogee County Election Board office, 400 W. Broadway, Room 120, in Muskogee, Beach said.

The Board of Education positions at stake will be filled at the Annual School Election scheduled Tuesday, February 13, 2018. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the total votes cast in the election, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will meet in a runoff election on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.

Candidates may file for the following offices: Braggs Office 3, Checotah Office 3, Ft. Gibson Office 3, Gore Office 3 and Office 5 (Unexpired 2 year term), Haskell Office 3, Hilldale Office 3 and Office 2 (Unexpired 4 year term), Indian Capital Technology Center Office 3, Midway Office 3, Muskogee Office 3 and Office 2 (Unexpired 4 year term), Oktaha Office 3, Porum Office 3, Wainwright Office 2, Warner Office 3 and Office 1 (Unexpired 5 year term) and, Webbers Falls Office 3.

For more information, contact the Muskogee County Election Board at (918) 687-8151.