Kathy Jo Vidacak, 60

Born January 19, 1959

Died September 17, 2019

Kathryn Louise Melton, 73

Born December 27, 1945

Died September 15, 2019

Womaluke Lonzoe Cox, 88

Born June 25, 1931

Died September 15, 2019

Lonnie Harold O'Dell, 87

Born March 28, 1932

Died September 15, 2019

R. Steve Walden, 61

Born October 12, 1957

Died September 15, 2019


Our death notices and obits are always free to the families and funeral homes.


Saturday, September 21

Muskogee MiniCon

Thursday, August 29, 2019, 11:37 AM

Former OPEA President,Connie Stockton, Oklahoma Speaker of the House Charles McCall, Rep. Avery Frix and OPEA President Rita Heath.

The Oklahoma Public Employees Association (OPEA) honored state Rep. Avery Frix (House District 13, Muskogee) as one of its 2019 legislators of the year. The association selected Frix because of his work on state employee and retiree issues and his support of state employees in his district. The presentation was made August 23 during OPEA’s annual convention at The Lodge at Sequoyah State Park.

“This past session, Rep. Frix authored the bill to grant state employees a much-needed cost of living raise in their pensions without taking money from the general fund. We appreciate his support of retirees and active employees alike,” said OPEA Executive Director Sterling Zearley. “He is also the rising expert on pensions and retirement systems and our members are fortunate he has accepted that challenge.Even when the legislature is not in session, he works with OPEA members in their districts to improve working conditions.”

“I was humbled to receive this honor. I’m thankful for my constituents for allowing me to fight for state employees and retirees”, Frix said.

OPEA is Oklahoma’s largest organization advocating for state employees and retirees and its members work to support state agency employment and state agency services. It was established in 1975 and has approximately 8,000 members across the state.