Anthony "Pee Wee" Roberts, 33

Born September 13, 1987

Died May 5, 2021

Mary J. Risor, 77

Born September 2, 1943

Died May 5, 2021

Bob Hutson, 70

Born August 14, 1950

Died May 5, 2021

Billy Monroe Sampson, 71

Born July 9, 1949

Died May 5, 2021

Shirley Wainman, 85

Born January 28, 1936

Died May 5, 2021


Our death notices and obits are always free to the families and funeral homes.


Saturday, May 8

Live Music

Sunday, May 9

The Break Mother's Day Specials

Wednesday, November 25, 2020, 8:49 AM

Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr. signed an executive order Nov. 18 establishing the Cherokee Nation Advisory Committee on History and Culture to help ensure Cherokee art, history, and culture are presented in an accurate and authentic way.

The creation of the advisory committee is one of the arts and cultural initiatives supported by Cherokee Nation First Lady January Hoskin.

“As Cherokees, we have a duty to ensure Cherokee art, history, and culture thrive for the next seven generations. It has been a goal of this administration to ensure that the needs and perspectives of Cherokee artists, historians, and cultural advocates are considered in future initiatives of the Cherokee Nation. This executive order will set up a committee so we can do that, and it will enhance the great work we already do across the reservation and across the country,” Hoskin said. “I want to thank the First Lady of the Cherokee Nation, who has been a major force behind this effort. It is important to her that across the Cherokee Nation, those in our communities are involved in our art and culture so that artists have even more access to opportunities to share our beautiful story with the world.”

The committee will be made up of six Cherokee Nation citizens with substantial experience in their respective communities as artists, historians, and cultural and community advocates. To serve in those position, Hoskin appointed inaugural members including artists Victoria Vazquez and Jane Osti; historians Jack Baker and Catherine Foreman Gray; and cultural and community advocates Dawni Squirrel and Tommy Wildcat.

The members will serve from January 2021 to December 2022, with the option for renewal in January 2023 for a two-year term.

The objectives of the advisory committee are to provide guidance and feedback on matters related to the identification and acquisition of historic sites, public art, collection and care of Cherokee Nation’s art and artifacts, the Cherokee National Treasures program, historic and cultural events, museum exhibitions, books and publications.